On Friday we threw our annual Birkbeck awards!
An evening dedicated to celebrating the successes of the stars of the Birkbeck community – staff, officers and students – who have gone above and beyond this year and have truly made Birkbeck what it is.

Firstly, kicking off the ceremony, Chairman of Birkbeck University Students’ Union, Governor & Welfare Officer William Sarenden won the award for ‘Outstanding
Contribution’ to Birkbeck, followed by the award for the ‘Student Group Event of the Year’ which was won by the Latino Society Parties.

Moving on, Stephen Okere Bundou won the ‘Committee Member of the Year’ which was followed by a well-deserved joint win for ‘Course rep of the Year’ won by Cass Swan and Steph Hewitt.

The award for ‘Team of the Year’ went to the Mountaineering Society and ‘Student Group of the Year’ was won by the Computer Science Society.
It was then time to announce who delivered the ‘Best Professional Services’ which was won by Microbiology Technician Gayathri Sritharan and then Programme Director of BA Politics and MRes degrees Barry Maydom winning ‘Lecturer of the Year’. The 'Dissertation Supervisor of the Year' was awarded to Sanjib Bhakta.

Finally, it was time for ‘Colleague of the Year’ to be announced, which was a joint win for Students’ Union Voice Manager, Emily Wildash and Students’ Union Communications Assistant, Alice Dean.

Thank you to everyone who made the evening possible, and here’s to another successful year at Birkbeck!

© Birkbeck Students' Union

Birkbeck Students’ Union is a charitable incorporated organisation (CIO) registered in England and Wales, charity number 1142614.

Powered by MSL